Young Riders Tour

Young Riders Tour

Chiara Coppo © Equifo
Chiara Coppo © Equifo

Young Talents – New Opportunities

The makers of the Riders Tour GmbH, Paul Schockemöhle and Ullrich Kasselmann, want to award young riders new opportunities to test themselves in the “senior sport” and prove their potential. Promoting young talent has always been part of the Riders Tour concept, but is now taking on real shape with the Young Riders Tour.

The aim of the Young Rider series is to give good European riders in the U21 age group extended opportunities to compete on the established Riders Tour platform in the future.

The Mode of the Young Riders Tour

Rules & Points System

“Consistency” is the key word for success in the Young Riders Tour. As nice as a big victory is – being really good once is not enough in the international series. In order for consistency to unfold, it takes not only exceptional riders and horses, but also a tried and tested set of rules

Eligibility & Qualification: Eligible are riders of the age group U21 = 18 – 21 years. There will be a points system, similar to that of the Riders Tour: Participants will first start in an entry or qualification test for the Grand Prix. The qualifying competition will then be the Young Rider Grand Prix

Young Riders Tour Ranking & Points System:

The ranking will be permanently updated during the current series to determine the ‘Young Rider of the Year’ at the end of the series final. If more than one rider places in the same position, they will receive the same number of points, e.g. two riders in 3rd place: 15 points each. The next placed rider would then be 5th and get 11 points.

1. place = 20 points / 2. place = 17 points / 3. place = 15 points / 4. place = 13 points / 5. place = 11 points / 6. place = 10 points /  7. place = 9 points / 8. place = 8 points / 9. place = 7 points / 10. place = 6 points / 11. place = 5 points / 12. place = 4 points / 13. place = 3 points / 14. place = 2 points / 15. place = 1 point
Podium Lamprechtshausen © Sibil Slejko
Podium Lamprechtshausen © Sibil Slejko
Podium final 1. Matthis Westendarp - Chillert Blue, 2. Elena Datti - Nebbia Delle Schiave, 3. Aleksandra Kierznowska Bemer Final Young Riders Tour 2022 © DigiShots

Overall winner Young Riders Tour: Young Rider of the Year

The three first-placed riders of the final ranking will receive starting places at international events as a non-cash prize. The rider who has collected the most points in the Young Riders Tour is the “Young Rider of the Year”.

The Young Rider of the Year will receive a starting places at four shows in the following season. The runner-up will receive a starting place at two events in the following season. The third-placed rider can look forward to one starting place at a selected event in the following season.

In the event of a tie in points, the most wins or second places, etc. will decide. Should there still be a tie, the better result in the rating competition of the final station will decide.